Not only a park and a few benches – Historic events occurred there
Above where the St-Pierre River used to be, sits Place d’Youville. This place is incredible in terms of history and even hides one of Montreal’s lost rivers.
Originally, a hospital was on the grounds of the square. The hospital welcomed the less fortunate of the community. Part of the hospital was sacrificed to make place for other projects.
While there is no trace of Ste. Anne’s Market today, this is where it used to stand. Ste. Anne’s market was actually built in 1833 and was used for farmer’s fresh products but it had such an impressive architecture that the office of the Parliament chose this place to settle when Montreal was named the Capital of the country. That was only from 1844 to 1849. In April 1849, the rebellion militants set fire to the building and completely destroyed it. Another market was built but demolished in 1901. Lower and Upper Canada then set up in Toronto and the square was named after one of its first residents, Marguerite d’Youville, mother of the continuing work at the hospital. Local investors were assigned to revive any remains of the market. We will have to wait to see what treasure this place holds.
At one end of this square you can discern an old fire station where, until recently, used to be the Montreal History Museum. The museum has been moved to another location. At the other end of the square stands the Grand Trunk Building.