400, place d’Youville
Facing McGill Street, the side wall reaches Place d’Youville. This building is still used today by the Canadian government. Since its creation, the building is linked to the management of entries, importation and customs clearance to and from the country. First built to inspect materials, it has been converted over time to offices. After purchasing the land from the Grey Nuns and demolishing part of the hospital, the construction of the public building started in 1912 and was remodelled to adapt to new needs over time.
The first Custom House (Maison de Douane or Ancien Edifice de la douane) is located close to the port and is now part of the Pointe-a-Calliere Museum.
For an overview of Montreal click here.
For all posts on Montreal click here.
To know more on Old Montreal click here.