275, rue Notre-Dame Est
The Montreal City Hall has been at this location since 1878, the year of its inauguration. Previously (starting in 1852), the administration was under the roof of the Marche Bonsecours.
The City Hall is a solid symmetrical building with a balcony and columns overlooking Notre-Dame Street.
Unfortunately, a fire destroyed the interior of the City Hall in 1922. It was only reopened in 1926 with the preserved exterior walls and a new upper level design.
Since 2019, the five story historical site is under major renovation and the public administration has been moved next door at the old Court house also known as Lucien-Saulnier Building. While not used as a court house anymore, it is still in use by the public finance teams.
The City Hall is surrounded by the Champ-de-Mars, a green area that display the historic fortification stone wall that protected the city from invaders. Also on the opposite side of the street, is the Chateau Ramezay Museum and right next to it, Place Vauquelin with its nice fountain.