There is, frankly, little information on this well located military fort. Built between 1750—1763, near Gosier, overlooking the bay, this fortification was the witness to bloody confrontations between the English and the French. The French army was even sometimes supported by former freed slaves, a non-trivial story that possibly justifies the choice of this site as a stopping point on the island’s slave route.
The origin of the name of the fort is ambiguous. Some imply that it is a brave soldier, another would be the name of the first occupant of the place before the construction of the fort. It is difficult to confirm.
Today, the thick walls where the iguanas like to warm up, three cannons at the entrance, the drawbridge, the renovated powder room and underground corridors are to explore. Please note that exploring the underground may cause discomfort to some. Art exhibitions are organized on the site. The renovated powder building and the underground galleries are used to showcase the work.
The site, which is free to enter, is well maintained and offers breathtaking views of the bay. A large parking area is available next to the entrance.
For an overview of Guadeloupe click here.
For all posts on Guadeloupe click here.