The museum, opposite the massive Convent of the Sisters of Ste-Anne, was once a fur trading place. The site was actually a warehouse where they stored the fur. The building was built in 1803 next to the water permitting easy access for exchange. It is a single floor rectangular stone building next to the Canal Lachine. It was purchased by the Hudson Bay Company in 1833 and sold to the Sisters of Sainte-Anne in 1861 and has been a museum since 1985. The fur trade is part of history taught at school so this museum/building is an easy way to substantiate a learned subject.
The building is in a beautiful environment in the Promenade Pere-Marquette next to the old Canal Lachine section. Walking here is like going back in time.
Other place to visit in the area: Parc Rene-Levesque, Fleming Mill, LeBer-LeMoyne House and Lachine Museum.
For an overview of Montreal click here.
For all posts on Montreal click here.
For more information on activities on Canal Lachine click here.