The Chateau Saint-Ambroise was originally a factory where thousands of workers actively ensured production. The Merchard Mills and Co., the Dominion Textile and Colego occupied the building located next to the Canal Lachine. The original building was built in 1882 during one of the expansions of the canal to allow even bigger vessels.
The 500,000 square feet was abandoned for a few years and converted to a commercial loft in 1999. The loading docks were converted to a beautiful garden with a gazebo which transformed the place to a nice area to take a break. The chateau can host events while providing for more than 200 businesses. Many are linked to creative work in the film industry, publicity, animation and more.
The imposing building is located west of the Atwater Market.